List of Diplomatic Missions in New Zealand

122 Diplomatic mission locations 5 cities

This list of diplomatic missions in New Zealand is made up of 122 foreign embassies and consulates from 72 countries around the world, which are mainly located in Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch.

Map of foreign diplomatic missions in New Zealand


2 diplomatic missions


19 diplomatic missions

Central America and Caribbean

5 diplomatic missions


60 diplomatic missions

Middle East

5 diplomatic missions

North America

6 diplomatic missions


12 diplomatic missions

South America

13 diplomatic missions

Frequently asked questions, answered

1 - Which New Zealand city has the most diplomatic missions?

Wellington is home to 48 foreign diplomatic missions, more than any other cities in New Zealand.

2 - Which country has the most embassies and consulates in New Zealand?

At present, Finland has 1 embassy and 3 consulates/consulate-general in New Zealand, making it the country with most diplomatic representations in New Zealand.

3 - How many foreign embassies and consulates are there in New Zealand?

As of 2020, there are 25 embassies, 46 consulates and 44 other diplomatic representations in New Zealand.

4 - How many foreign embassies are there in Wellington?

The capital city of Wellington hosts about 48 foreign embassies and high commissions.