List of Diplomatic Missions in Sri Lanka

64 Diplomatic mission locations 5 cities

This list of diplomatic missions in Sri Lanka is made up of 64 foreign embassies and consulates from 60 countries around the world, which are mainly located in Colombo, Kandy and Male.

Map of foreign diplomatic missions in Sri Lanka


4 diplomatic missions


17 diplomatic missions

Central America and Caribbean

2 diplomatic missions


29 diplomatic missions

Middle East

6 diplomatic missions

North America

2 diplomatic missions


1 diplomatic missions

South America

3 diplomatic missions

Frequently asked questions, answered

1 - Which Sri Lanka city has the most diplomatic missions?

Colombo is home to 57 foreign diplomatic missions, more than any other cities in Sri Lanka.

2 - Which country has the most embassies and consulates in Sri Lanka?

At present, Germany has 1 embassy and 1 consulates/consulate-general in Sri Lanka, making it the country with most diplomatic representations in Sri Lanka.

3 - How many foreign embassies and consulates are there in Sri Lanka?

As of 2020, there are 25 embassies, 8 consulates and 27 other diplomatic representations in Sri Lanka.

4 - How many foreign embassies are there in Colombo?

The capital city of Colombo hosts about 57 foreign embassies and high commissions.